Public Services Librarian
Finding Articles
Periodicals include popular magazines, newspapers, and academic journals. These may contain scholarly articles, reviews, news, or criticism. Remember, you can always contact us to help find what you need.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the back issues of scholarly journals as well as ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some of which date back to the 1800s. Supports such disciplines as biological sciences, business and economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, music, political sciences and sociology.
*Please note that issues from the last 3 to 5 years for the majority of JSTOR's journals are not available. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Sociology and Anthropology Databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. It features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and lexicographers and contains abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowProvides access to current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also covers individually selected, relevant items from leading natural and physical science journals. The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts (science and social sciences), and cited references. Researchers can search the citation data (the footnotes of each article), taking a known, relevant paper and finding other, more recent papers that cite it.
Requesting Articles Through Interlibrary Loan
Typically, if we have access to an article, you will be able to download a PDF copy of it or read it in your browser. If you come across an article that we don't have access to, you can always request it using our Interlibrary Loan service. If you haven't created an account for ILL, email ill@owu.edu to sign up.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
