Print Periodicals Collections
Periodicals include popular magazines and newspapers, academic journals, and government documents. These resources can be used as examples of journalistic practice to be analyzed or support for your own reporting. Most of our print and microform periodicals collections can be found on the Ground Floor of Beeghly Library.
Click on these links to browse available print and online titles:
- Newspapers -- Titles from all around the world; includes New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- Magazines -- Titles from all around the world; includes transcripts from television news magazines like 60 Minutes
Here's a sampling of key titles:
 |
(1851 - present) |
 |
(1946 - present) |
 |
(1863 - present) |
 |
(1923 - present) |
Online Periodical Archives
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Provides rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. Covers advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
- American Periodicals Series (Collection I) This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Hosted by the Library of Congress, offering selected digitized issues of historic U.S. newspapers published from 1836 to 1922.
Current News Databases
- U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides users with exclusive and preferred access to current content and significant archives dating back to 1980 from five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Periodicals in Special Collections
Our Special Collections, located on the 2nd Floor of Beeghly, houses several archival collections that include vintage periodicals that might be of interest in your research.
Physical Collections
The OWU Historical Collections includes university publications like student newspapers and alumni magazines. You can make an appointment with the archivist to view physical copies of some titles.
From our Rare Books and Manuscripts collections we have:
Digital Collections
- Student newspapers of the Five Colleges of Ohio -- Online collection of digitized newspapers; includes OWU student newspapers going back to 1867.
- Oberlin Tribune 1941-1945
- Oberlin African-American Genealogy & History (OAAGHG) Group Obituary Project
- Our Shared History -- Includes articles and ads from vintage periodicals from OWU and Delaware, Ohio.
- Town Newspapers of the Five Colleges of Ohio
- Oberlin College Student Publications
Periodicals on Journalism History
A complete list of Academic journals on Journalism & Communications is here. Below are titles that specifically address the history of journalism.
- Journalism History (E.W. Scripps School of Journalism : Online) byCall Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 1985-2018Search for articles in the journal for issues published 1985-2018 via Communication & Mass Media Complete database.
- Journal of Modern Periodical Studies byCall Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2010-2015The Journal of Modern Periodical Studies is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal devoted to the academic study of modern periodicals—by which we mean periodicals published roughly in the period from 1880 to 1950, whether they are aggressively modernist or anti-modernist, popular or elite, mass circulation or specialized, long-lasting or brief. Daily newspapers, weeklies, monthlies, quarterlies, and irregularly published little magazines are all part of the field covered by this journal.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
