Book Collections
Book collections at Beeghly library include reference works and volumes on journalists and journalism history. You can find both print books and ebooks in the catalog. Scroll down the page to find a sampling of the resources available.
You can go to the library's home page to start your search, or learn more on how to search our different collections here.
You can also click on the subject headings below to see which books in our collection have those tags.
Not finding what you need? Use interlibrary loan to have resources delivered from other libraries to you at OWU.
History of American Journalism Series
This six-volume series chronicles journalism from colonial era America to the 2000s.
The Early American Press, 1690-1783 by
In this survey, the authors try to suggest the complexities of the early American press. They address such issues as why newspapers first appeared, the purpose that newspaper operators saw for themselves, the role of the practice of journalism in the colonial press, and the role of the press in influencing public opinion. Their primary focus, however, is on the essential nature of the early American press and the factors that accounted for that character.
Call Number: PN4855 .H57 1994 no.1ISBN: 0313275254Publication Date: 1994-09-30
The Press of the Young Republic, 1783-1833 by
As political parties grew in the United States, newspapers became an essential part of the communication network for the dissemination of the ideology of the parties. This volume presents the changing role of the press in American society--from a vehicle through which to convert people to a particular point of view, to a provider of news and information.
Call Number: PN4855 .H57 1994 no.2ISBN: 0313284067Publication Date: 1996-10-21
The Popular Press, 1833-1865 by
The transition from partisan press to commercial journalism, it is argued, was a gradual process that covered the entire popular press era from the founding of the penny newspapers in 1833 through the end of the Civil War in 1865. Newspapers reflected a diverse, multicultural society and numerous reform and partisan groups during the antebellum era. Among the subjects covered are the New York newspaper wars, specialized publications, alternative newspapers, Western newspaper wars, reporters, officers, and soldiers in the field, and reflections on the popular press.
Call Number: PN4855 .H57 1994 no. 3ISBN: 0313307954Publication Date: 1999-01-30
The Gilded Age Press, 1865-1900 by
American newspapers redefined journalism after the Civil War by breaking away from the editorial and financial control of the Democratic and Republican parties. Successful papers in post-bellum America thrived by catering to a mass audience, which increased their circulations and raised their advertising revenues. Still active politically, independent editors now sought to influence their readers' opinions themselves rather than serve as conduits for the party line.
Call Number: PN4855 .H57 2003ISBN: 0313300801Publication Date: 2003-08-30
The Public Press, 1900-1945 by Call Number: PN4855 .H57 1994 no. 5ISBN: 9780275981662Publication Date: 2006-06-30
Journalism at the End of the American Century, 1965-Present by
This book examines the significant changes in journalism that occurred after the mid-1960s, discussing how those changes contributed to the expanding reach of news, broadening definitions of news media, and diminishing trust in journalists.
Call Number: PN4867 .M38 2006ISBN: 9780313317804Publication Date: 2006-06-30
Journalism Reference
Reference texts, like encyclopedias, directories, and dictionaries, can be starting points for research on a person or topic. Encyclopedia entries often end with a list of additional resources to check out. These are reliable sources, and some of these may end up as sources in your bibliographies.
Historical Dictionary of Journalism by
The Historical Dictionary of Journalism relates how journalism has evolved over the centuries. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on the different styles of journalism, the different types of media, and important writers and editors.
Call Number: Ref PN4728 .E37 2009ISBN: 9780810860759Publication Date: 2009-03-02
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. In the A-to-Z volumes 1 through 4, both scholars and journalists contribute articles that span the field's wide spectrum of topics, from design, editing, advertising, and marketing to libel, censorship, First Amendment rights, and bias to digital manipulation, media hoaxes, political cartoonists, and secrecy and leaks.
Call Number: Ref PN4728 .E48 2009ISBN: 9780761929574Publication Date: 2009-09-25
The International Encyclopedia of Communication by
Collection of 1,339 original entries, spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research. Coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas in this interdisciplinary field. Editorial areas include: communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology
Call Number: Ref PN4728 .I58 2008ISBN: 9781405131995Publication Date: 2008-04-28
The Associated Press Stylebook 2016 and briefing on media law by Call Number: Ref PN4783 .A83 2016ISBN: 9780917360633Publication Date: 2016
American National Biography by
American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by anexpert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
Call Number: Ref CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21
Books on Journalism and Journalists
These include topical overviews of the profession, its history, and profiles of publishers, editors, and reporters.
From Watergate to Monicagate by
Students of media, journalism, and social issues classes will use this book to identify the ten most controversial issues facing the media profession today. Topics include the ever-increasing monopolistic control of the media by conglomerates, tabloid journalism and its impact on the news and plagiarism.
Call Number: PN4731 .F58 2001ISBN: 0313311633Publication Date: 2001-06-30
A History of News by
A History of News, Third Edition, provides an extended, international history of journalism that ranges from preliterate societies to the digital age. It examines the strengths and weaknesses of news and provides unique insights into contemporary journalism.
Call Number: PN4731 .S686 2007ISBN: 9780195189919Publication Date: 2006-08-10
Interpreting News by
This core introductory text offers a comprehensive overview of how news has been theorised and understood in key Media Studies traditions. It explores how news is constructed, distributed and received and includes up-to-date examples and discussion of contemporary issues such as the uses of new technologies in news media.
Call Number: PN4731 .M3975 2009ISBN: 9781403933829Publication Date: 2008-10-07
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
