Public Services Librarian
Calvin Cleary
Contact:
Beeghly Library
740-368-3237
Subjects: Africana, Gender, and Identity Studies, Ancient, Medieval, and Renaissance Studies, Citations, Classics, Comparative Literature, East Asian Studies, Education, English, Film Studies, Fine Arts, History, Images, Journalism and Communication, Latin American Studies, Performing Arts, Religion and Philosophy, Sociology and Anthropology, World Languages and Culture
Finding Articles
Periodicals include popular magazines, newspapers, and academic journals. These may contain scholarly articles, reviews, news, or criticism. Remember, you can always contact us to help find what you need.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some of which date back to the 1800s. Supports such disciplines as biological sciences, business and economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, music, political sciences and sociology.
*Please note that issues from the last 3 to 5 years for the majority of JSTOR's journals are not available. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Women and Gender Studies Databases
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering the world's literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBTQ+ Life contains indexing and abstracts for hundreds of LGBTQ+-specific core periodicals, books and reference works. - SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. It features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and lexicographers and contains abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in women’s studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web sites & web documents, and grey literature.
Requesting Articles Through Interlibrary Loan
Typically, if we have access to an article, you will be able to download a PDF copy of it or read it in your browser. If you come across an article that we don't have access to, you can always request it using our Interlibrary Loan service. If you haven't created an account for ILL, email ill@owu.edu to sign up.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
