Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Textbooks

  • OhioLINK Open Course Content Library -- A part of OhioLINK's initiative Affordable Learning Ohio, which aims to lower cost of learning resources for Ohio college students, this is a catalog of a available open course materials.
     
  • OpenStax College* -- Open source textbooks that are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields and undergo a rigorous peer review process. All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements.  
    *OWU's textbook adoption software includes the ability to search OER textbooks from OpenStax.   
     
  • Open Textbook Library* -- The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.  
    *Ohio Wesleyan through OhioLINK is a consortial member of the Open Textbook Network.  
     
  • OhioLINK A-Z List -- Part of OhioLINK's Affordable Learning Ohio, this curated list of resources includes Open Access titles as well as titles purchased as part of OhioLINK ebook packages. The latter are free for use by patrons at OhioLINK institutions but most likely will exclude remix options. For use options, click the link beneath the description of each text.  You may be asked to select Ohio Wesleyan from a list of organizations first.
     
  • MERLOT -- MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.
     
  • Milne Open Textbooks -- Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
     
  • BC Campus OpenEd -- BCcampus Open Education hosts and maintains the B.C. Open Textbook Collection which contains hundreds of high quality resources selected for post-secondary curricula in British Columbia and Canada.
     
  • OER Commons -- OER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners avoid time-consuming searches and find exactly the right materials. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons’ growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER everyone can more efficiently find what they need.
     
  • Galileo Open Learning Materials -- Open textbooks, syllabi, and supporting materials created under Affordable Learning Georgia OER grants. Materials are licensed under various Creative Commons licenses.
     
  • IntechOpen -- Open access books covering physical, life, and social sciences for upper level undergraduate and graduate students

Open Courseware

Open courseware sites offer educators access to a wide variety of course materials including, but not limited to, syllabi, reading lists, lecture notes, assignments, and exams.

Supplemental Resources

The following resources offer free, interdisciplinary cultural and archival collections that could be used to supplement coursework: 

  • Europeana -- This is the EU digital platform for cultural heritage. More than 3,000 institutions across Europe have contributed to Europeana. These range from major international names like the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the British Library and the Louvre to regional archives and local museums from every member of the European Union. Together, their assembled collections let users explore Europe's cultural and scientific heritage from prehistory to the modern day. 
     
  • World Digital Library -- The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. 
     
  • PhET Interactive Simulations - University level -- From the University of Colorado Boulder, a collection of interactive lessons covering the maths and sciences.