Skip to Main Content

Performing Arts Resources

The Databases

Accessing Naxos Through Summon

You can search for streaming Naxos recordings by using Summon, the library's search tool. Enter a composer or a work in the search box. 

1) You can filter the results by using the Content Type facets in the left-hand menu.

2) Click on More... for the full list.

3) Scroll down the list that appears to Streaming Audio.

4) Click the green check mark next to it. 

5) Scroll back up to click the Apply button.

After you set the filter, look for items that have the music note icon and the orange "online" label. Click on the Available Online link and you will be taken to the item in the Naxos database.

Accessing Databases

Accessing Databases

To access any of OWU's subscription databases, on campus or off campus, you will be prompted to login with your OWU credentials. 

This is the same login you use to access Blackboard and your OWU email.

Questions? Contact us!

Searching Naxos

You can search the Naxos database
with a simple keyword search in the
box at the top of the page:

You can also browse using the
menu in the left-hand column.

Composers and artists are under People.

Genres can be found under Categories.

When you select an artist from their
list you will get a brief bio and list of
works and recordings available for streaming.



Getting Links

If you wish to share a link to a track, a work, or an album in Naxos, you can do that without creating a playlist. 

NOTE: You *cannot* just copy and paste the URL from your web browser bar to share tracks and albums. It will generate an error message. Please follow the instructions below to generate a shareable Naxos link. 


To reveal links, click on the Link icon above the track list and all of the the links for the album and tracks will appear. Copy and paste the link to your doc or site page.

The link for the whole album can be found underneath the album title.


In the track list, you find links for works and movements/individual tracks.


Using Playlists

Create a Playlist

To create a shareable playlist please use the Naxos link above: 

  1. Open the link
  2. If you are automatically logged into the regular Naxos site, logout.
  3. Login with username OhioWes, and password OhioWes. 
  4. Click the Playlist icon in the left-hand menu.
  5. On the playlist page, click on the Ohio Wesleyan University Playlists tab.

  6. Click on the Current OhioWes folder.
  7. Click Create Playlist. In the pop up box, add your title in the Playlist Name box. Start with your initials and then add a unique title for the list. Click Save Playlist.

  8. Now search for tracks to add to your playlist. Once you find a track, check its box and click the Plus sign button.

  9. In the pop up box , select the Ohio Wesleyan tab, the Current OhioWes folder, and the playlist you created. Click Save.


Sharing a Playlist

Please note that playlists are only shareable when created with the URL and login listed above.

  1. Click on Ohio Wesleyan University Playlists tab > Current OhioWes folder > check box for your playlist.

  2. Then check the Display Static URL to Playlist check box in the blue bar on your upper right just above the playlists. The URL will appear underneath the playlist.

  3. To copy link:  
    1. Click on the blue double arrow to the left of the link. This highlights the link.
    2. CTRL+C or right click and copy to copy the URL.

Logging Out

When you have finished your work in Naxos, remember to logout before you close your window/tab.


Why is this important? Because we have a 5-user limit. If you don't logout before you close that window/tab, that user spot remains filled for another 30 minutes. When you logout you make that spot available immediately. 

Questions? Please contact us!

Other Audio Recording Resources


OhioLINK Music Center is another way to access Naxos recordings without hitting our local 5 user limit. You will not be able to create or share playlists from this portal though.

Info on finding other music recording sources, including how find CDs and DVDs of performances, is here.