Teaching and Engagement Librarian
Reference Overview
Reference texts, like encyclopedias, directories, and dictionaries, can be starting points for research on a person or topic. Below are some key titles for Journalism and Communications studies.
Journalism Reference
The Associated Press Stylebook 2016 and briefing on media law by Call Number: Ref PN4783 .A83 2016ISBN: 9780917360633Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. In the A-to-Z volumes 1 through 4, both scholars and journalists contribute articles that span the field's wide spectrum of topics, from design, editing, advertising, and marketing to libel, censorship, First Amendment rights, and bias to digital manipulation, media hoaxes, political cartoonists, and secrecy and leaks.
Call Number: Ref PN4728 .E48 2009ISBN: 9780761929574Publication Date: 2009-09-25
Historical Dictionary of Journalism by
The Historical Dictionary of Journalism relates how journalism has evolved over the centuries. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on the different styles of journalism, the different types of media, and important writers and editors.
Call Number: Ref PN4728 .E37 2009ISBN: 9780810860759Publication Date: 2009-03-02
The International Encyclopedia of Communication by
Collection of 1,339 original entries, spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research. Coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas in this interdisciplinary field. Editorial areas include: communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology
Call Number: Ref PN4728 .I58 2008ISBN: 9781405131995Publication Date: 2008-04-28
Biographical Dictionaries
African American National Biography by
The African American National Biography presents history through a mosaic of the lives of thousands of individuals, illuminating the abiding influence of persons of African descent on the life of this nation from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1529 through to notable black citizens of the present day. Available initially as a handsome eight-volume set containing over 4,000 entries written and signed by distinguished scholars, the AANB continues to grow along with the field of African American biographical research, and continuous updates to the online edition will bring the total number of lives profiled to more than 5,000. This is a remarkable achievement, an eightfold increase over the number of biographies contained in 2004's award-winning and substantial African American Lives. In addition to Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, W. E. B. Du Bois and Martin Luther King Jr., the AANB includes a wide range of African Americans from all time periods and all walks of life, both famous and nearly-forgotten. In the words of AANB editor Henry Louis Gates, Jr., "These stories, long buried in the dusty archives of history, will never be lost again. And that is what scholarship in the field of African American Studies should be all about."
Call Number: Ref E185.96 .A4466 2008ISBN: 9780195160192Publication Date: 2008-02-18
American National Biography by
American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by anexpert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
Call Number: Ref CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21
Facts about the Presidents by
The new Eighth Edition of Facts About the Presidents delivers comprehensive data about every American president, from George Washington to Barack Obama, plus facts about the Executive Office itself.
Call Number: Ref E176.1 .K3 2009ISBN: 9780824210878Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Routledge Companion to Sports History by
This book provides a comprehensive guide to the international field of sports history as it has developed as an academic area of study. Readers are guided through the development of the field across a range of thematic and geographical contexts and are introduced to the latest cutting edge approaches within the field. Including contributions from many of the world's leading sports historians, the Routledge Companion to Sports Historyis the most important single volume for researchers and students in, and entering, the sports history field. It is an essential guide to contemporary research themes, to new ways of doing sports history, and to the theoretical and methodological foundations of this most fascinating of subjects.
Call Number: Ref GV571 .R68 2010ISBN: 9780415773393Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Reference Databases
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. This database offers encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
