The links on this page will help you find images, most of which are protected by copyright. To find out if you can use the images for your project, please read the information on copyright and fair use.
"TinEye is a reverse image search engine. You can submit an image to TinEye to find out where it came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or to find higher resolution versions."
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art [in Washington D.C.]. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. ... More than 51,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration."
"The Visual Collections site from Cartography Associates contains dozens of digital image collections from Museums, Universities and private collections throughout the world." It also includes several map collections. You will have access to the free collections.
A digitized collection of books from a variety of partners including libraries. It includes both in copyright and public domain items. For out of copyright and public domain items, users can access the entire text.
A collection of items created by a non-profit organization dedicated to permanently preserving historically significant collections in digital form. Though it includes internet sites, images, audio recordings, and music archives it is widely known for its digitized book collections which cover everything from fiction to historical and academic texts. Both in-copyright and public domain materials can be found here.