Please note
The links on this page will help you find images, most of which are protected by copyright. To find out if you can use the images for your project, please read the information on copyright and fair use.
Library databases: Best bets for finding images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary resource that provides access to thousands of high resolution images from many times and cultures in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Includes images of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, archaeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture more generally.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.
- Ebsco Image Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
Library databases: Additional resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
- China: Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable.
- County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Ohio This link opens in a new window
Included in this collection on Ohio are 21 cities and regions covered in 305 titles. These titles comprise tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. This database offers encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- LANDSAT Satellite Images This link opens in a new window
The Landsat satellite record stretches from 1972 to the present. This gallery includes all Landsat images published on the Earth Observatory, Visible Earth, and Landsat Science web sites from all seven Landsat satellites (Landsats 1-8, Landsat 6 failed to achieve orbit). All of the images are in the public domain and may be used with attribution.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
- Sanborn Insurance Maps This link opens in a new window
Over 40,000 detailed maps of Ohio cities drawn between 1882 and 1962.
- Times Digital Archive (London, England : 1785-) This link opens in a new window
The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2013 makes 228 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
