Public Services Librarian
Analyst Reports
Analyst reports include overview and analysis of a company or industry.
Stock Reports via Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Stock reports from Standard and Poor's Capital IQ (formerly NetAdvantage)
Finding Comparable Companies
Business Source Complete: generate a list by using NAICS code (North American Industry Classification System).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis): select Create a Company List, and use NAICS code.
Standard and Poor's Capital IQ (formerly NetAdvantage): in a company overview, use Quick Comp for peer companies OR click Primary Industry Classification to locate more companies in that field.
Peer Analysis
SWOT Analysis
MarketLine Company Report from Business Source Complete : look for section called SWOT analysis.
Supply Chain
10-Ks and Annual Reports to Shareholders: look for terms such as supply chain, logistics, purchasing, or transportation within the text.
IBISWorld: look for the Supply Chain, which is part of the section called "About the Industry".
Articles from Newspapers, Magazines and Trade Publications
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals and also includes many leading journals in the areas of economics, finance, and accounting, as well as country economic reports.
- U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides users with exclusive and preferred access to current content and significant archives dating back to 1980 from five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.
Industry Reports
provides access to S&P Industry Surveys, which provides in-depth, independent research on industries and sub-industries. Industry Surveys are written by team of respected equity analysts for clients to get up to speed on an industry's profile, trends, key ratios and statistics, and how the industry operates. The reports also explain how to analyze a company within that space.
provides industry and market reports for 700 industries at the 5-digit level. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Marketline Industry Profiles in Business Source Complete
Do you know the NAICS and SIC codes for the industry you are researching?
The federal government assigns these codes to business segments for data collection and reporting purposes. NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes were adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. Many research resources, such as databases, utilize NAICS and/or SIC codes for searching purposes.
Find NAICS and SIC codes for a specific industry at the U.S. Census Bureau website. Need help? See the NAICS tutorial on this LibGuide for some tips.
Porter's Five Forces Analysis
Marketline Industry Profile from Business Source Complete: look for section called Five Forces Analysis.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
