Using Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are a great first step in your search for information. They will help put your topic into context and introduce underlying principles, theories, and facts about your topic. Encyclopedias will also provide references to the seminal work on a topic. Pay attention to the terms you find, and use them to refine your searching strategy. Encyclopedias are generally not appropriate sources to cite in a research paper.
Science Encyclopedias
Dean's Handbook of Organic ChemistryCall Number: QD251.3 .G65 2004Available in Print (Science Reference)
Systematic Nomenclature in Organic Chemistry: A Directory to Comprehension and Application of Its Basic PrinciplesCall Number: QD291 .H3913 2001Available in Print (Science Reference)
The Facts on File Dictionary of Organic ChemistryCall Number: QD246 .F33 2004Available in Print (Science Reference)
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and BiologicalsCall Number: RS51 .M4 2006Available in Print (Science Reference)
The Vocabulary and Concepts of Organic ChemistryCall Number: QD291 .V63 2005Available in Print (Science Reference)
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of ChemistryCall Number: QD4 .V36 2005Available in Print (Science Reference)
General Encyclopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
