Public Services Librarian
Calvin Cleary
Contact:
Beeghly Library
740-368-3237
Subjects: Africana, Gender, and Identity Studies, Ancient, Medieval, and Renaissance Studies, Citations, Classics, Comparative Literature, East Asian Studies, Education, English, Film Studies, Fine Arts, History, Images, Journalism and Communication, Latin American Studies, Performing Arts, Religion and Philosophy, Sociology and Anthropology, World Languages and Culture
Collections and Call Numbers
Below is a sampling of titles and topics we have available in the realm of journalism, communication, and mass media, so you can get an idea of what we resources we have available through OWU Libraries.
The call numbers (letter/number combos) listed with the subject areas are the identifiers found on the spine labels of the books. These specify the topic and order in which they are shelved. Those numbers can get complicated so *please* feel free to ask a library or library staff member for help if you can't find an item.
P87-96 Communications and Mass Media
Books on analyzing and chronicling the communications and mass media industries can be found with call numbers P87 through P96 on the third floor of Beeghly Library. Check out some of the selected titles below.
African Americans in the History of Mass Communication by
African Americans in the History of Mass Communication offers a variety of stories focusing on how African Americans use the media to educate, advocate, empower, and serve others. Stories ranging from the Civil War to the Civil Rights Era, which include different forms of media from cinema and music to newspapers and public relations, offer perspectives that have yet to be told. The book's concluding chapter includes personal accounts from several of its contributing authors detailing how they researched their chapters. These accounts offer questions designed to generate thought about scholarship and history. Students may use these anecdotes as guides for their own research.
Call Number: P94.5.A37 A377 2014ISBN: 143311819XPublication Date: 2014-01-30
The History of Media and Communication Research by
#65533;Strictly speaking#65533;, James Carey wrote, #65533;there is no history of mass communication research.#65533; This volume is a long-overdue response to Carey's comment about the field's ignorance of its own past. The collection includes essays of historiographical self-scrutiny, as well as new histories that trace the field's institutional evolution and cross-pollination with other academic disciplines. The volume treats the remembered past of mass communication research as crucial terrain where boundaries are marked off and futures plotted. The collection, intended for scholars and advanced graduate students, is an essential compass for the field.
Call Number: P91.3 .H57 2008ISBN: 9781433102400Publication Date: 2008-04-02
Revolutions in Communication by
Revolutions in Communication offers a new approach to media history, presenting an encyclopedic look at the way technological change has linked social and ideological communities. Using key figures in history to benchmark the chronology of technical innovation, Kovarik's exhaustive scholarship narrates the story of revolutions in printing, electronic communication and digital information, while drawing parallels between the past and present. Updated to reflect new research that has surfaced these past few years, Revolutions in Communication continues to provide students and teachers with the most readable history of communications, while including enough international perspective to get the most accurate sense of the field. The supplemental reading materials on the companion website include slideshows, podcasts and video demonstration plans in order to facilitate further reading.
Call Number: P90 .K666 2016ISBN: 1628924780Publication Date: 2015-11-19
PN93.5 Visual Communication
Many titles on visual communication and design are classed with art books. You can browse all Visual Communication titles in the catalog.
Handbook of Visual Communication by
This Handbook of Visual Communicationexplores the key theoretical areas in visual communication, and presents the research methods utilized in exploring how people see and how visual communication occurs. With chapters contributed by many of the best-known and respected scholars in visual communication, this volume brings together significant and influential work in the visual communication discipline. The theory chapters included here define the twelve major theories in visual communication scholarship: aesthetics, perception, representation, visual rhetoric, cognition, semiotics, reception theory, narrative, media aesthetics, ethics, visual literacy, and cultural studies. Each of these theory chapters is followed by exemplar studies in the area, demonstrating the various methods used in visual communication research as well as the research approaches applicable for specific media types. The Handbookserves as an invaluable reference for visual communication theory as well as a useful resource book of research methods in the discipline. It defines the current state of theory and research in visual communication, and serves as a foundation for future scholarship and study. As such, it is required reading for scholars, researchers, and advanced students in visual communication, and it will be influential in other disciplines in which the visual component is key, including advertising, persuasion, and media studies. The volume will also be useful to practitioners seeking to understand the visual aspects of their media and the visual processes used by their audiences.ference for visual communication theory as well as a useful resource book of research methods in the discipline. It defines the current state of theory and research in visual communication, and serves as a foundation for future scholarship and study. As such, it is required reading for scholars, researchers, and advanced students in visual communication, and it will be influential in other disciplines in which the visual component is key, including advertising, persuasion, and media studies. The volume will also be useful to practitioners seeking to understand the visual aspects of their media and the visual processes used by their audiences.
Call Number: P93.5 .H363 2005ISBN: 0805841784Publication Date: 2004-11-03
Infographics Designers' Sketchbooks by
We are living in a golden age of data visualization, in which designers are responding to the information overload of our digital era with astonishing feats of visual thinking. Using a wide variety of techniques, they transform complex ideas into clear, engaging, and memorable infographics. In recent years, books and websites have been collecting the field's best. While stimulating, these finished projects offer little insight into how visual solutions were reached, making them of limited use to designers wanting to produce work of their own. InInfographic Designers' Sketchbooks, more than fifty of the world's leading graphic designers and illustrators open up their private sketchbooks to offer a rare glimpse of their creative processes. Emphasizing idea-generating methods--from doodles and drawings to three-dimensional and digital mock-ups--this revelatory collection is the first to go inside designers' studios to reveal the art and craft behind infographic design.
Call Number: P93.5 .H454 2014ISBN: 9781616892869Publication Date: 2014-10-14
PN4731 General works on journalism
Books on the history and practice of journalism can be found under the call numbers PN4699-5650 on the third floor of Beeghly Library. Check out some selected titles below.
From Watergate to Monicagate by
Students of media, journalism, and social issues classes will use this book to identify the ten most controversial issues facing the media profession today. Topics include the ever-increasing monopolistic control of the media by conglomerates, tabloid journalism and its impact on the news and plagiarism.
Call Number: PN4731 .F58 2001ISBN: 0313311633Publication Date: 2001-06-30
A History of News by
A History of News, Third Edition, provides an extended, international history of journalism that ranges from preliterate societies to the digital age. It examines the strengths and weaknesses of news and provides unique insights into contemporary journalism.
Call Number: PN4731 .S686 2007ISBN: 9780195189919Publication Date: 2006-08-10
Interpreting News by
This core introductory text offers a comprehensive overview of how news has been theorised and understood in key Media Studies traditions. It explores how news is constructed, distributed and received and includes up-to-date examples and discussion of contemporary issues such as the uses of new technologies in news media.
Call Number: PN4731 .M3975 2009ISBN: 9781403933829Publication Date: 2008-10-07
PN4871-4874 Journalist biographies
Front Row at the White House by
From the woman who has reported on every president from Kennedy to Clinton for United Press International: a unique glimpse into the White House -- and a telling record of the ever-changing relationship between the presidency and the press. Assigned to the White House press corps in 1961, Thomas was the first woman to close a press conference with "Thank you, Mr. President," and has covered every administration since Kennedy's.
Call Number: PN4874.T424 A3 1999ISBN: 0684849119Publication Date: 1999-05-07
I Have Seen the Future : a Life of Lincoln Steffans by
At the dawn of the twentieth century, Lincoln Steffens, an internationally known and respected political insider, went rogue to work for McClure's Magazine. Credited as the proverbial father of muckraking reporting, Steffens quickly rose to the top of McClure's team of investigative journalists, earning him the attention of many powerful politicians who utilized his knack for tireless probing to battle government corruption and greedy politicians.
Call Number: PN4874.S68 H37 2011ISBN: 9781582436470Publication Date: 2011-05-17
Nellie Bly : daredevil, reporter, feminist by
The first and only fully documented biography of Bly, integrating a wealth of previously unknown information with a reporter’s zeal for the hard fact. It is the first attempt to give us this legendary figure in all her complexity: the most famous woman journalist of her day, an extraordinary American industrialist, and a compelling humanitarian.
Call Number: PN4874.C59 K76 1994ISBN: 0812919734Publication Date: 1994-03-01
PN4900 Publication histories
Inside Ms. by
"Inside Ms". is the Story of the groundbreaking feminist magazine and the people who made it happen. As Mary Thom brings us inside this institution, she traces the rise of one of the most transforming movements of twentieth-century America.
Call Number: PN4900.M77 T49 1997ISBN: 0805037322Publication Date: 1997-07-01
Playboy and the Making of the Good Life in Modern America by
In exploring the history of America's mostwidely read and influential men's magazine, Elizabeth Fraterrigo hones in on the values, style, and gender formulations put forth in its pages and how they gained widespread currency in American culture.
Call Number: PN4900.P5 F73 2009ISBN: 9780195386103Publication Date: 2009-11-05
The World Through a Monocle by
Mary Corey mines the magazine's editorial voice, journalism, fiction, advertisements, cartoons, and poetry to unearth the preoccupations, values, and conflicts of its readers, editors, and contributors. She delineates the effort to fuse liberal ideals with aspirations to high social status, finds the magazine's blind spots with regard to women and racial and ethnic stereotyping, and explores its abiding concern with elite consumption coupled with a contempt for mass production and popular advertising.
Call Number: PN4900.N35 C67 1999ISBN: 0674002083Publication Date: 2000-02-25
TR820 Photojournalism
American Photojournalism by
Photojournalism has long been the medium of urgency and social change. It has profoundly affected American public opinion, going back at least to Mathew Brady's images from the Civil War. In American Photojournalism: Motivations and Meanings, Claude Cookman explores the history and future of the medium through the work of such exemplary photojournalists as Jacob Riis, Dorothea Lange, Weegee, Margaret Bourke-White, W. Eugene Smith, Gordon Parks, Rich Clarkson, and Carol Guzy, among others.
Call Number: TR820 .C6595 2009ISBN: 9780810123588Publication Date: 2009-08-21
This Is War! by
This collection examines in detail six of the most important moments he covered as a young man: the falling soldier (a single image from the Spanish Civil War made in 1936), Chinese resistance to the Japanese invasion (1938), the end of the Spanish Civil War in Catalonia (November 938-January 1939), D-Day (1944), the U.S. paratroop invasion of Germany (March, 1945), and the liberation of Leipzig (April, 1945).
Call Number: TR820.6 .C36 2007ISBN: 9783865215338Publication Date: 2007-11-01
World Press Photo 2011 by
Every year since 1955 an international jury has convened in Holland under the auspices of the World Press Photo Foundation to choose the finest press photographs of the year. Universally recognized as the definitive competition for photographic reporting, it draws submissions from photojournalists, newspapers, and magazines throughout the world.Publishing the results of the most recent competition, this book contains the most haunting and inspiring photographs from 2010--some 200 pictures selected from more than 100,000 images submitted by photographers, picture agencies, newspapers, and magazines throughout the world. These prize-winning works capture the most powerful, moving, and sometimes disturbing events of the year.
Call Number: TR820 .W675 2011ISBN: 9780500977088Publication Date: 2011-06-30
Journalism in History and Politics
Some books on journalists, journalism, and the media will be in the history (call numbers that begin with E) or law (call numbers that begin with K) sections, especially if it pertains to politics or social issues.
The following subject headings will also have relevant titles:
African American Journalists Biography
African American Women Journalists Biography
Freedom of the Press United States
Journalists United States Biography
Journalism United States History
Presidents Press Coverage United States
Press and Politics United States
Women Journalists United States Biography
In these sections you'll find titles like the ones below:
The Girls in the Van by
The Girls in the Vanis the ultimate press pass to Hillary Clinton's historic Senate run, following the first lady from the moment she dons a black pantsuit and a Yankees cap all the way to her historic victory.
Call Number: E887.C55 H37 2001ISBN: 0312281269Publication Date: 2001-10-12
Ida B. Wells-Barnett and American Reform, 1880-1930 by
Pioneering African American journalist Ida B. Wells-Barnett (1862-1931) is widely remembered for her courageous antilynching crusade in the 1890s; the full range of her struggles against injustice is not as well known. With this book, Patricia Schechter restores Wells-Barnett to her central, if embattled, place in the early reform movements for civil rights, women's suffrage, and Progressivism in the United States and abroad. Schechter's comprehensive treatment makes vivid the scope of Wells-Barnett's contributions and examines why the political philosophy and leadership of this extraordinary activist eventually became marginalized.
Call Number: E185.97.W55 S34 2001ISBN: 0807826332Publication Date: 2001-09-10
The Law of Journalism and Mass Communication by Call Number: KF2750 .T73 2010ISBN: 9780872899230Publication Date: 2009-07-23
Lincoln Mediated by
Lincoln Mediated provides new information about a historical figure everyone thinks they know. It describes how Abraham Lincoln worked with the press throughout his political career, beginning with his service in Congress in the late 1840s, and detailing how his ties to newspapers in Illinois, New York, and Washington played a central role in the success of his presidency.
Call Number: E457.2 .B683 2015ISBN: 9781412855709Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
