Librarian
Introduction
This page provides links to different types of articles you can use in your research. Most library journals are available 24 hours a day online. You have access to the book catalog and full list of databases at the OWU Libraries Homepage.
Brought to you by Ronald Williams Library at Northeastern Illinois University
Best Bet
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
General Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the back issues of scholarly journals as well as ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some of which date back to the 1800s. Supports such disciplines as biological sciences, business and economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, music, political sciences and sociology.
*Please note that issues from the last 3 to 5 years for the majority of JSTOR's journals are not available. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
Advice on Searching
- Stay flexible.
- Searching is a process. It's likely that you will not find exactly what you are looking for on your first search. Try different keywords and different combinations.
- There is not one perfect source.
- It is very unlikely that you will find one article or book that will say everything that you want to say in your paper (if you do, you might want to consider refining your topic to write on a more original research topic). Consider the types of arguments you could make on your topic. How can you find a resource about the individual topics that you could then combine in your paper?
- Ask for help.
- Librarians are here to help. You can email me directly at emlang@owu.edu or email the reference desk at libraries@owu.edu, call at 740-368-3225, or chat with us on the library's homepage.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
