Borrowing
- Borrow, Renew, RequestInfo for students, faculty, and staff on what they can borrow, how much, and for how long. Contact the library if you have any questions.
Searching for Art and Design Books
CONSORT is a search tool that lets you search the collections of OWU, Denison, Kenyon, and the College of Wooster. You can find books, ebooks, periodicals, and audiovisual items.
The subject headings below link to specific topic collections available in CONSORT:
Call Numbers for Art and Design Books
| N | Art - General
|
Atlas of World Art by
The Atlas of World Art maps the cumulative traces of humankind's artistic activity and demonstrates the importance of physical and political geography for the history of the world's art. This stunning volume is the first to treat the art of the whole world from prehistory to present day andto show the importance of natural and social factors in shaping artistic activity. The Atlas is divided into seven parts, each devoted to a specific time period: Art of the Hunter Gatherer (50,000-5,000 BCE); Art, Agriculture and Urbanization (5,000-500 BCE); Art, War and Empire (500 BCE-600 CE); Art, Religion and Empire (600-1500); Art, Exploitation and Display (1500-1800); Art,Industry and Science (1800-1900); Art, Competition and Identity (1900-2000). Each section opens with a helpful timeline for that period bringing together important dates from across various cultures. Within each section, the spreads are organized by four broad geographic regions: the Americas,Europe, Africa, and Asia and the Pacific. With dramatic full-color maps, as well as commentaries and illustrations, the Atlas of World Art is an authoritative, comprehensive, and elegant volume.
Call Number: N5300 .A77 2008ISBN: 0195215834Publication Date: 2004
| NA | Architecture |
ABC of Architecture by
ABC of Architecture is an accessible, nontechnical introduction to architectural structure, history, and criticism. Author James F. O'Gormon moves seamlessly from a discussion of the most basic inspiration for architecture (the need for shelter from the elements), to an exploration of space, system, and material, and, finally, to an examination of the language and history of architecture. He shows the nonspecialist how to read a design in plans, sections, and elevations, and how architects, like other artists, make creative use of space and light.
Call Number: NA2530 .O36 1998ISBN: 0812216318Publication Date: 1997-10-01
| NB | Sculpture |
Sculpture, 1900-1945 by
This book provides a comprehensive analysis of the significant growth of sculpture as an artistic form in Europe and America from 1900-1945. Using a clearly-defined thematic structure it identifies key issues and developments throughout this important period in the history of art. Individualchapters cover: public sculpture, the monument, the object, image-making, the built environment, the figurative ideal, and different materials. These themes broadly reflect the changing cultural and political climate of a turbulent period which included two world wars, each preceded by widespreadrising nationalism. The practice of sculpture is considered within the wider artistic context of painting and architecture and the development of international art markets. Auguste Rodin, whose ground-breaking exhibition opened in Paris in 1900, serves as the book's point of departure, and as arecurrent point of reference.
Call Number: NB198 .C87 1999ISBN: 0192842285Publication Date: 1999
| NC | Drawing and Design
|
The Story of Graphic Design by
This comprehensive illustrated history begins with the origins of the alphabet itself and carries the reader through the first handwritten books, the invention of printing in the Renaissance, the explosion of graphic styles (and printed media) in the 19th and 20th centuries, and the impact of digital technology on design today. Like E.H. Gombrich's magnificent Story of Art, The Story of Graphic Design is a compelling narrative that explores the evolution of styles under the pressure of social, cultural, and technological change, accompanied by a comprehensive selection of illustrations of key works in typography and design since the invention of writing. It covers a remarkable number of topics, from the art of the medieval manuscript to the birth of advertising to the workings of modern mass media. Unlike all other historians of design, Patrick Cramsie is able to bring a designer's eye to the analysis of visual communication. The Story of Graphic Design is an indispensible book for designers, historians, and students, and will find a wide readership among people who are interested in the visual arts or concerned about the future of the printed word.
Call Number: NC998 .C72 2010ISBN: 9780810972926Publication Date: 2010
| ND | Painting |
After Caravaggio by
A revelatory study of a school of remarkable painters from one of the great art historians of the 20th century During the twenty years following Caravaggio's death, his revolutionary precedent inspired the creation of a remarkable body of paintings. Drawing together works by Bartolomeo Manfredi, Valentin de Boulogne, Nicolas Tournier, Nicolas Régnier, Cecco del Caravaggio, and the young Jusepe de Ribera, Michael Fried examines the nature of this later generation's engagement with Caravaggio. The magnitude and interest of their achievements have long been recognized, but existing scholarship has touched only the surface. Fried approaches his topic with seriousness and sophistication, revealing the density of meaning and sheer pictorial ambition in the works of the painters known as the Caravaggisti. Accessibly written, this beautifully illustrated book combines an account of works by Manfredi, Valentin, Tournier, Regnier, and Ribera with a detailed case study of Cecco del Caravaggio's Resurrection (1619-20), and concludes by surveying a group of paintings by Guercino, a painter not counted among the Caravaggisti, but whose strategies in relation to the viewer aligned him with their interests. Fried moves with agility between broad and focused fields of vision. In his final remarks, he makes a compelling case for understanding these paintings in relation to the thought of René Descartes.
Call Number: ND456 .F75 2016ISBN: 9780300218640Publication Date: 2016
| NE | Print Making and Engraving |
Printmaking by
Printmaking: A Contemporary Perspective is a solid overview of current work in this exciting area, taking into account the history and the different techniques available for artists working today. Using the work of contemporary artists, Printmaking tells the story of the progression of this art form and highlights the most important technological advances and influential artists. Printmaking is split into sections including: Reworking Traditions; Painterly Approaches; the Hybrid Print; Political Imperatives; the Sculptor’s Print; Installation and Expanded Print; and New Technology. Each section discusses the origin of print styles, early artists, and contemporary artists working with print today. The various methods of printing, such as monoprinting, linocut and screen-printing, through to etching and lithography are discussed throughout these sections in relation to the artists that work with them. Exploring contemporary approaches to this ever-growing medium, Printmaking discusses the work of some of the most exciting artists working in the field today. Artists featured include Richard Hamilton, Damien Hirst, Roni Horn, Masami Teraoka, Kara Walker, Oscar Munos, Willie Cole, Banksy and Brooklyn based Faile Collective. The work of influential artists in the field throughout history are also included, such as Rembrandt, Goya, Degas, Picasso, Paula Rego, and George Baselitz, to show the effect their work has had on a younger generation of artists.
Call Number: NE850 .C55 2010ISBN: 9781906155438Publication Date: 2010
| NK | Decorative Arts
|
The New Age of Ceramics by
While most surveys of contemporary art focus largely on two-dimensional work, there is a growing movement of emerging as well as established artists that are producing work in the ceramic medium. The New Age of Ceramics documents that movement; accross 180 illustrations it showcases a story of the art world redefining what was previously considered 'craft' rather than art.
Call Number: NK3940 .N49 2016ISBN: 9781584236245Publication Date: 2016
| NX |
The Arts (as a field)
|
Variations on a Blue Guitar by
For 25 years, Maxine Greene has been the philosopher-in-residence at the innovative Lincoln Center Institute, where her work forms the foundation of the Institute's aesthetic education practice. Each summer she addresses teachers from across the country, representing all grade levels, through LCI's intensive professional development sessions. Variations on a Blue Guitar contains a selection of these never-before-published lectures touching on the topics of aesthetic education, imagination and transformation, educational renewal and reform, excellence, standards, and cultural diversity, powerful ideas for today's educators.
Call Number: NX284.4.N7 G74 2001ISBN: 0807741361Publication Date: 2001
| TR |
Photography |
Magnum Photobook by
The first complete illustrated bibliography of 1,000 iconic photobooks created by members of the renowned photo agency This fascinating in-depth survey brings Magnum's history alive through the genre of the photobook - an essential vehicle for photographers to share their work. Its pages include unpublished behind-the-scenes material, together with ephemera from the photographers' archives about the making of their books. With an introduction by Fred Ritchin and texts by Carole Naggar, this book explores the evolution of the photobook, as well as the important role that Magnum has played in the history of documentary photography.
Call Number: TR650 .R54 2016ISBN: 9780714872117Publication Date: 2016
| TT |
Handicrafts |
Color, Texture and Casting for Jewelers by
In Color, Texture & Casting, jewelry teacher extraordinaire Carles Codina covers a wide swath of techniques in depth, in a book packed with excellent instruction and cover-to-cover superb how-to photography: keum, boo, plating, melted filings, mokume gane, and granulation; textures, finishes, and patinas; and microcasting, working with waxes, sand casting, cuttlebone casting, ceramic coating, and casting in a closed crucible. Several wonderful and innovative projects to explore the teachings and a beautiful gallery round out this valuable, hands-on volume. Along with the other important material covered in the book, with Color, Texture & Casting Carles Codina has created the best modern casting book on the market--one that's authoritative, approachable, and loaded with fantastic creative techniques.
Call Number: TT212 .C59813 2011ISBN: 1454700173Publication Date: 2011
| Z |
Book Trade and Design |
The Book of Books by
Since the fifteenth century, the printed book has been an essential carrier of information. And, for more than five hundred years, there have been designers, printers, and publishers who have extended the boundaries of their professions aesthetically and technically, producing books that are masterpieces of graphic art. This sumptuous collection tells the history of the printed book through milestone publications and little-known treasures of the art of the book. The noted originators range from Jenson and Bellaert in the fifteenth century through Piranesi, Bodoni, and Bewick to Morris, Gill, Tschichold, and Birdsall in the modern age. The featured publications include The Nuremberg Chronicle from 1493--a masterpiece of integrated text and illustration; Maria Sibylla Merian's book of insects from 1719; Muybridge's 1887 Animal Locomotion; a photomontage book by John Heartfield published in 1929; and a 1937 edition of The Frogs by Aristophanes, produced by the Limited Editions Club of New York.
Call Number: Z4 .B6474 2012ISBN: 9780500515914Publication Date: 2012
Art Reference Books
Reference books, like dictionaries and encyclopedias, can be helpful starting points for research. They can give you basic information on a person -- their full name, date and place of birth -- and overviews on historical eras and art movements. From there you can find key words to help you search for more specific topics.
You can find reference books for art on the 1st floor of Beeghly, with the same call number ranges listed above. Here's some of what you'll find:
The Dictionary of Art by
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Providing depth as well as breadth, The Dictionary of Art examines important art forms and key issues of design, taste, function, and patronage, illuminating them in light of the cultural context in which they developed.
Call Number: N31 .D5 1996 (34 vols.)ISBN: 1884446000Publication Date: 2003
Art in Theory, 1900-2000 by
This popular anthology of twentieth-century art theoretical texts has now been expanded to take account of new research, and to include significant contributions to art theory from the 1990s. New edition of this popular anthology of twentieth-century art-theoretical texts. Now updated to include the results of new research, together with significant contributions from the 1990s. Includes writings by critics, philosophers, politicians and literary figures. The editors provide contextual introductions to 340 texts. Complements Art in Theory 1648-1815 and Art in Theory 1815-1900 to create a complete survey of the theories underpinning the development of art in the modern period.
Call Number: N6490 .A7167 2003ISBN: 9780631227083Publication Date: 2002
Contemporary American Women Sculptors by
This beautifully illustrated reference work is the only source of information on American women sculptors as a group. Virginia Watson-Jones presents the accomplishments of more than 350 contemporary American women sculptors through photographs of their major works and detailed information about their lives and careers. For each artist information is provided on her birthplace and birth year, education, preferred media, major exhibitions, location of work in public collections, awards, selected private collectors, professional interests other than sculpture, teaching position (if applicable), and mailing address. Each entry also includes a statement by the sculptor and her signature.
Call Number: NB212 .W37 1986ISBN: 0897741390Publication Date: 1986
The Design Encyclopedia by
The Museum of Modern Art Design Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive design reference guide to date. Compiled over the last 15 years by Mel Byars, in consultation with an international team of design experts, The Encyclopedia sets out to provide the factual framework of a discipline whose own historical accounting of itself is still relatively young. (By way of contrast, art history has existed as a scholarly discipline for over two centuries, and has produced a fairly comprehensive record of itself in that time period.) Only once before has a similarly comprehensive overview of the history of design been attempted--in 1994, also by Mel Byars. The Encyclopedia is about design, of course, but these days "design" seems to encompass almost everything, from magazine layouts and sweatshirts to animatronic flower gardens and heart pumps, not to mention the more abstract "information design." Here, however, design is considered only in its concrete application to functional objects, thus crossing with craft, decorative arts, and industrial design, but distinguishing itself from fine art and theory. The result is 832 pages covering the last 130 years in the history of the design of furniture, lighting, fabrics, ceramics, glassware, metalware, objects in a range of other materials, and mechanical, electrical and electronic appliances, as well as automobiles and some inventions. There are separate entries for designers and craftspeople, design studios, consortiums and partnerships, noteworthy manufacturers, significant historical periods and styles, and materials. Entries, 3,600 in all, are self-contained and organized alphabetically, and include cross-references. Information is an amalgamation of data gathered from a vast number of primary and secondary sources. With over 700 full-color illustrations, most of which are drawn from the MoMA collection, the remainder from Quittenbaum Kunstauktionen in Munich and Hamburg or directly from designers or manufacturers, this publication is an invaluable, definitive compendium of the world of design over the last century and a half.
Call Number: NK1370 .B93 2004ISBN: 087070012XPublication Date: 2004
Ebooks
As an OWU student you have access to thousands of ebooks to assist you in your research. Below are links to Art and Architecture collections from our various ebook providers.
You can learn more about how to access ebooks here.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
