What is a scholarly resource?
In brief, scholarly work is:
- Written by experts for experts;
- Based on original research or intellectual inquiry;
- Provides citations for all sources used;
- Is usually peer reviewed prior to publication.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (a visual tour by NCSU Libraries)
Click on the different parts of the article to learn
- How a scholarly article is organized.
- How a scholarly article differs from a popular article.
Selected Titles
The Handbook of Global Media Research by
Bringing together the perspectives of more than 40 internationally acclaimed authors, The Handbook of Global Media Research explores competing methodologies in the dynamic field of transnational media and communications, providing valuable insight into research practice in a globalized media landscape. Provides a framework for the critical debate of comparative media research Posits transnational media research as reflective of advanced globalization processes, and explores its roles and responsibilities Articulates the key themes and competing methodological approaches in a dynamic and developing field Showcases the perspectives and ideas of 30 leading internationally acclaimed scholars Offers a platform for the discussion of crucial issues from a variety of theoretical, methodical and practical viewpoints
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781118255278Publication Date: 2012-08-21
The Handbook of Media and Communication Research by
A Handbook of Media and Communication Researchpresents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the study of media and communication, integrating perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities. Taking methodology as a strategic level of analysis that joins practical concerns with theoretical issues, the Handbook offers a comprehensive and in-depth review of the field and a set of guidelines for how to think about, plan, and carry out media and communication studies in different social and cultural contexts. The second edition has been thoroughly updated with reference to the development of the internet, mobile, and other digital media. Each chapter addresses shifting configurations of established media organizations, media discourses, and media users in networked practices of communication. The introduction and one further chapter probe changing conceptions on mass and interpersonal, online and offline communication - in research as in everyday life. Three new chapters have been added to exemplify different forms of research employing multiple methods to study multiple media in multiple contexts. List of contributors:Klaus Bruhn Jensen, Barrie Gunter, Rasmus Helles, Annette Hill, Stig Hjarvard, Peter Larsen, Amanda Lotz, Graham Murdock, Horace Newcomb, Paddy Scannell, Lynn Schofield Clark, Kim Christian Schr#65533;der
Call Number: P91.3 .H35 2012 (Request from Wooster)ISBN: 9780203357255Publication Date: 2013-03-01
The handbook of media and mass communication theory by
This book presents a comprehensive collection of original essays that focus on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication. It focuses on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication. It includes essays from a variety of global contexts, from Asia and the Middle East to the Americas. It gives niche theories new life in several essays that use them to illuminate their application in specific contexts. It features coverage of a wide variety of theoretical perspectives. It pays close attention to the use of theory in understanding new communication contexts, such as social media
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781118591178Publication Date: 2014
Innovative Methods in Media and Communication Research by
This collection reflects the need for suitable methods to answer emerging questions that result from the ever-changing media environment. As media technologies and infrastructures become inseparably interwoven with social constellations, scholars from varying disciplines increasingly investigate their characteristics, functioning, relevance and impact - facing new methodological challenges as well as opportunities. Innovative Methods in Media and Communication Research engages with the substantial need to rethink established methods to research acute changes in the media environment. The book gathers chapters dedicated to the multifacetedness and liveliness of emerging methods - from lifelogging and ethnography to digital methods and visualization - while embedding them in the rich history of interdisciplinary empirical research. Innovation here is a call for widening and rethinking research methods to stimulate a sophisticated debate on and exploration of contemporary methodological approaches for scholars at various levels of academic life. Accompanied by introductory sections of prominent scholars, the majority of empirical studies gathered in this volume are accomplished through early-career scholars who strive to advance cutting-edge and in parts even provocative approaches for the study of media and communication. The book's four sections on Materiality, Technology, Experience and Visualization are introduced by Saskia Sassen, Noortje Marres, Sarah Pink and Lev Manovich.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9783319406992Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Summon
Summon is a library search tool that lets you search across the majority of the library's resources including books in CONSORT, full-text articles from academic databases, media, ebooks, and lots more from a single search box.
Can't find what you need? Request an item through Interlibrary Loan.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
