Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of Global Health by
"A general reference for topics related to health worlwide, this encyclopedia is ambitious in its scope, with entries for specific diseases and conditions, geographical areas, health issues, biographical information, and organizations related to world health policy." --CHOICE "A useful, one-stop reference for health professionals and the general population alike that speaks to important changes and issues in global health; a foundation of knowledge essential for any library." --Library Journal The contemporary understanding of global health is complicated and extends to all ends of the Earth and beyond. From the health effects of global warming to the implications of single nucleotide differences on disease, the factors that impact global health are extremely diverse and are changing constantly. As new scientific advances are made, as new policies are implemented, as wars are waged and peace agreements signed, or as new strains of infectious diseases evolve, the state of global health changes. The Encyclopedia of Global Health is a comprehensive, one stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide. Encompassing four volumes with more than 1,200 articles, the Encyclopedia covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities. Key Features Offers a truly global approach by giving the current health status in each country of five continents Compares the mortality rates of infectious diseases and non-communicable diseases in developing and developed countries Presents a historical context for important changes and issues in global health and serves as a foundation of knowledge Examines how mental health and related conditions in developing countries are increasing toward the level in developed countries Ties the curriculum in related health disciplines from biology, to psychology, to psychopharmacology Provides a glossary of health definitions, extensive cross-references to related topics, and thorough bibliographic citations Key Themes #65533; Children's Health Countries: Africa Countries: Americas Countries: Asia Countries: Europe Countries: Pacific Diseases, Cancers Diseases, Localized Diseases, Systemic Drugs and Drug Companies Health Sciences Men's Health Mental Health Organizations and Associations People Procedures and Therapies Research Society and Health Women's Health The Encyclopedia of Global Health is a useful reference for health professionals, as well as for general populations, making it a must-have resource for any library.
Call Number: OWU Beeghly Reference RA441 .E53 2008ISBN: 9781412941860Publication Date: 2008-01-09
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by
Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
Call Number: OWU Beeghly Reference RA418 .E354 2004ISBN: 0306477548Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Handbook of Health Economics by
What new theories, evidence, and policies have shaped health economics in the 21st century? Editors Mark Pauly, Thomas McGuire, and Pedro Pita Barros assemble the expertise of leading authorities in this survey of substantive issues. In 16 chapters they cover recent developments in health economics, from medical spending growth to the demand for health care, the markets for pharmaceutical products, the medical workforce, and equity in health and health care. Its global perspective, including an emphasis on low and middle-income countries, will result in the same high citations that made Volume 1 (2000) a foundational text. Presents coherent summaries of major subjects and methodologies, marking important advances and revisions. Serves as a frequently used non-journal reference. Introduces non-economists to the best research in health economics.
Call Number: OWU Beeghly Reference RA410 .H256 2012ISBN: 9780444535924Publication Date: 2011-12-22
CDC Health Information for International Travel 2012 by
Health risks are dynamic and ever-changing, both at home and while traveling abroad. To stay abreast of the most up-to-date health recommendations, for decades health care professionals and travelers have relied on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's user-friendly HealthInformation for International Travel (commonly referred to as the The Yellow Book) as a trusted reference. Updated biennially by a team of experts, this book is the only publication for all official government recommendations for international travel.The book's features include clear and easy-to-read disease risk maps, information on where to find health care during travel, specific health information and itineraries for popular tourist destinations, detailed country-specific information for yellow fever and malaria, advice for those travelingwith infants and children, and a comprehensive catalog of diseases, their clinical pictures, and their epidemiologies. The Yellow Book addresses the pre-travel consult and provides post-travel clinical guidance on ways to approach common syndromes of returned travelers who are ill.
Call Number: OWU Beeghly Reference RA783.5 .C33 2012ISBN: 9780199769018Publication Date: 2011-06-06
Recommended Films
- A Closer Walk A closer walk is the first film to depict humankind's confrontation with the global AIDS epidemic. The film's director and producer, Robert Bilheimer, is an Academy Award nominee for his film Cry of reason, a profile of the South African anti-apartheid leader Beyers Naude. A closer walk was conceived with the late Jonathan Mann, architect of the World Health Organization's response to global AIDS. For the film, more than 50 women, men, and young people have been interviewed or profiled in the following regions and locations: Uganda, South Africa, Haiti, Switzerland, India, Nepal, Ukraine, Cambodia, and various locations in the United States including New York City, Kansas City, San Francisco, and Cambridge. Subjects and story lines encompass the broad spectrum of the global AIDS experience and include people with HIV/AIDS from all walks of life; AIDS children and orphans and those caring for them; doctors, nurses, and social workers; human rights advocates; and prominent scientists, economists, researchers, government leaders, and NGO officials. The film's basic themes remain, what are the underlying causes of AIDS; the relationship between health, dignity, and human rights; and the universal need for action, compassion, and commitment to counter what has become the worst plague in human history. Several universally recognized individuals appear in the film as well. These include: His Holiness the Dalai Lama, UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, and Bono of U2. The interview with His Holiness was His first on the subject of "universal responsibility" in the context of the global AIDS epidemic. Glenn Close and Will Smith are the film's narrators
- And the Band Played On Follows the struggle of a handful of strong-willed men and women who took on the fight to save lives in the face of a mysterious illness now called AIDS
- Miss Evers' Boys "It is 1932 when loyal, devoted Nurse Eunice Evers is invited to work with Dr. Brodus and Dr. Douglas on a federally funded program to treat syphilis patients in Alabama. Free treatment is offered to those who test positive for the disease, including Caleb Humphries and Willie Johnson. But when the government withdraws its support, money is offered for what will become known as 'The Tuskegee Experiment'; a study of the effects of syphilis on patients who don't receive treatment. Now the men must be led to believe they are being cared for, when in fact they are being denied the medicine that could cure them. Miss Evers is faced with a terrible dilemma - to abandon the experiment and tell her patients or to remain silent and offer only comfort"--Container
- Erin Brockovich Erin Brockovich is a feisty young mother who convinces attorney Ed Masry to hire her and promptly stumbles upon a monumental law case against a giant corporation. Erin's determined to take on this powerful adversary even though no law firm has dared to do it before. The two begin an incredible and sometimes hilarious fight that will bring a small town to its feet and a huge company to its knees.
- Sicko Michael Moore interviews Americans who have been denied treatment by the United States health care insurance companies -- companies who sacrifice essential health services in order to maximize profits. Sheds light on the how complicated it can become for communities and individuals, and the sacrifices they have made when they are denied health care coverage
Featured Library Resources
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Access to over 80 full text consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Formerly GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources).
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. Encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
- Biosis Previews This link opens in a new windowMonitors international journals representing virtually every life science discipline, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, environment, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
