Country Research for International Business

There are a variety of different country reports available through Business Source Complete. If you search the name of your country, some of these reports may show up in the search. But to find the specific report, you will likely need to search for your country and the name of the report (headings below). There is a lot of valuable information in each report. While some of the data is duplicated, each report approaches the country in different ways. To get a full picture, you will need to review multiple reports. Not every country will have every report. 

IHS Markit Country Territory Report

(Recently merged with Country Monitor so this is the same report as the Country/Territory Report)
Includes a breakdown of specific factors related to the country's forecasted risks, including political, economic, legal, tax, operational (includes infrastructure and resources), and security. These sections provide in-depth information on the risks facing the country, but you may need to look for other sources to find the basic structures. These reports are published by S&P Global, a data and statistical analysis company that does not reveal its sources. 

MarketLine Country Profile

Not every country has a MarketLine Country Profile. Each country profile analyzes the political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental (PESTLE) structure in a country.  Includes key economic data. 

Political Risk Yearbook

Includes information on Business forecasts including charts with economic data, regional comparisons, and geopolitical analysis. 

BMI Research Reports

These reports are not country-specific. There is a range of reports from specific industries in countries to regional (Country Cluster level) outlook reports. What is available and relevant to your country will vary. 

Hint: choose News, enter country name, select date range.  Once you get results, limit the Publication Type to Country & Region Reports

• Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) country intelligence:  includes EIU Country Reports, EIU Country Commerce, EIU Country Risk Briefing and EIU Country Forecast.
• CountryWatch Reviews: offers an up-to-date series of publications (updated weekly) for each of 196 countries including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information. Each Country Review features foreign relations, political climate, economic conditions, cultural etiquette and provides in depth coverage of Energy, Agriculture and Metals consumption and production along with the World Pricing Summary.

• PRS Risk Guide: provides in-depth analysis of every factor that could affect business, trade or investments in countries around the world as well as a detailed country-by-country breakdown of the comparative risks (political, financial and economic) of operating in, investing or lending to particular countries. Includes PRS International Country Risk Guide and PRS Political Risk Service.