Public Services Librarian
Introduction
Just starting your search for news articles? You can search our databases or Summon for Full-text newspaper articles. If you need to go directly to the source, there is a list of reputable news outlets on the bottom of this page.
News in Library Databases
*Limit to NEWSPAPER ARTICLE from your initial results list on Summon.*
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Provides legal, news, and business information from 15,000 of the best business, news, and legal sources available.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides users with exclusive and preferred access to current content and significant archives dating back to 1980 from five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources.
Reliable News Sources
- Delaware GazetteNeed local news? The Delaware Gazette will give you an inside look of what's going on around OWU.
- Columbus DispatchThe Columbus Dispatch is a good place to look for a local perspective on national and international news.
- U.S. Newspaper DirectoryThis directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them.
- New York TimesA respectable source for the national perspective on the day's events. You can also find information on cultural issues with multiple sections ranging from arts to music to sports.
- Los Angeles TimesThe largest newspaper on the west coast, known for its coverage of issues particularly relevant to the west coast.
- USA TodayKnown for its centralist perspective, printed in multiple locations to help provide a local, regional, and national voice.
- Wall Street JournalNeed business information? The Wall Street Journal covers the national business community and the news that affects it.
- National Public Radion (NPR)A non-profit media organization that focuses on radio broadcasts but also produces multiple forms of online content.
- ABC NewsThe news division of ABC focusing on video news coverage, but also includes radio and online content.
- PoliticoPrimarily online content that covers the United States and international politics and policy.
- Associated PressThe Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative that provides content to newspapers worldwide.
- ReutersAn international news organization that has nearly 200 locations around the world, specifically working within a handbook to guide them to present the news fairly.
- BBCNeed a non-US perspective? The BBC is a British public services broadcast service.
- Foreign Newspaper OnlineFor more international resources, the Foreign Newspaper Online provides a list of world-wide newspapers available online.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
