Articles
Below are a handful of recent scholarly articles on the topic of inclusive pedagogy. This is by no means a comprehensive list, but it may serve as an introduction to some of the discussions happening in the inclusive pedagogy space.
- Critical Race Theory: An Annotated Bibliography"Critical race theory (CRT) took start in the mid-1970s with the realization that the civil rights movement of the 1960s had stalled and that many of its gains, in fact, were being rolled back. Many believed that new tactics and theories were needed to understand and come to grips with the complex interplay among race, racism, and US law. Beginning with the ground-breaking works of Derrick Bell and Alan Freeman, the body of CRT scholarship now contains several books and more than 200 articles. A bibliography lists and annotates the major entries within the CRT corpus. For each entry is supplied a brief summary, along with one or more numbers corresponding to a list of major CRT themes. The bibliography does not attempt to list every article that could arguably be included within the CRT corpus. Short pieces that seemed duplicative of an author's previous work were omitted, as were articles dealing with the legal problems of blacks or people of color in general."
- Critical Race Theory: Its Origins, History, and Importance to the Discourses and Rhetoric of RaceAbstract: "Critical Race Theory (CRT) originated in US law schools, bringing together issues of power, race, and racism to address the liberal notion of color blindness, and argues that ignoring racial difference maintains and perpetuates the status quo with its deeply institutionalized injustices to racial minorities. This essay introduces CRT as a theoretical frame by which to better understand discourses of race and racism in contemporary color blind and supposed post-racial societies. This work is situated within rhetorical studies so as to trace connections between CRT scholarship and literatures in anti-racist rhetoric that seek to understand, challenge, and dismantle systems of racism."
- Critical Race Theory and Empirical SociologyAbstract: "We argue that empirical sociology would benefit from a greater engagement with critical race theory (CRT). In this introduction, we outline four steps to the empirical application of CRT in sociology: (1) understanding that social science is not value neutral, (2) using CRT to inform research design and methodology, (3) investigating racism at multiple levels of analysis, and (4) empirical data and analysis should uncover the relational aspect to racism. The studies in this special issue demonstrate how CRT and social science cross empirical boundaries in fruitful collaboration to document the reproduction of racism in the 21st century."
- Critical Race Theory and the Whiteness of Teacher EducationAbstract: "This article uses three tenets of critical race theory to critique the common pattern of teacher education focusing on preparing predominantly White cohorts of teacher candidates for racially and ethnically diverse students. The tenet of interest convergence asks how White interests are served through incremental steps. The tenet of color blindness prompts asking how structures that seem neutral, such as teacher testing, reinforce Whiteness and White interests. The tenet of experiential knowledge prompts asking whose voices are being heard. The article argues that much about teacher education can be changed, offering suggestions that derive from these tenets."
- Critical Race Theory in Education: A Review of Past Literature and a Look to the FutureAbstract: "This article examines the development of Critical Race Theory (CRT) in education, paying attention to how researchers use CRT (and its branches) in the study of K-12 and higher education. The article reviews CRT literature with a focus on CRT scholarship that offers tools to engage with and work against racism within education. The authors highlight works that embody the critical origins of CRT in both the law and elsewhere, with a goal of demonstrating that CRT work means more than just pointing to race. It requires an engagement and articulation with the material, structural, and ideological mechanisms of White supremacy."
Databases
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowWeekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the back issues of scholarly journals as well as ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some of which date back to the 1800s. Supports such disciplines as biological sciences, business and economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, music, political sciences and sociology.
*Please note that issues from the last 3 to 5 years for the majority of JSTOR's journals are not available. - Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. It features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and lexicographers and contains abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.