Public Services Librarian
Periodicals Overview
Periodicals include popular magazines, newspapers, and academic journals. These may contain news, original research, opinion pieces, and other types of information. While many magazines and newspapers offer some articles for free online, academic articles can typically only be found through specialized tools like Academic Search Complete or Google Scholar.
Secondary Sources
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the research literature from 2,100 journals for all aspects of United States and Canadian history.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the back issues of scholarly journals as well as ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, some of which date back to the 1800s. Supports such disciplines as biological sciences, business and economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, music, political sciences and sociology.
*Please note that issues from the last 3 to 5 years for the majority of JSTOR's journals are not available. -
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
Primary Sources
-
American Periodicals Series (Collection I) This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
-
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
-
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Hosted by the Library of Congress, offering selected digitized issues of historic U.S. newspapers published from 1836 to 1922. -
U.S. Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full text for Hearings, Reports, Documents, and Committee prints from 1970-present. Covers bill tracking & profiles, bill text, members and committee coverage, the Daily Congressional Record and the Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register, and political news.
For materials that have entered the public domain (typically, materials published before 1920), Google is an invaluable resource. Because of this, Google is quite valuable for finding primary source materials.
However, if you are looking for academic secondary sources, or historiographical essays, you will struggle to find high-quality, free resources on Google.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
