Skip to Main Content

Special Collections Guide for Student Classes

Visiting the Special Collections

The Special Collections Department is located on the second floor of Beeghly Library, adjacent to the Bayley Room.

The Reading Room is open Monday-Friday, 8:30am-Noon, and 1-5pm.

Students are highly encouraged to schedule appointments, but walk-ins are also welcome.

Contact information for appointments:

  • OWU Historical Collection

Staffing in transition. Please email historicalcollection@owu.edu or call 740-368-3285

  • Rare Books, Manuscripts & Artifacts

Stacy Chaney-Blankenship (Rare Books Librarian), sbchaney@owu.edu, 740-368-3288

  • Archives of Ohio United Methodism

Sharon Monigold (Archivist), aoum@owu.edu, 740-368-3285

Access and Use of Special Collections

  1. Users should sign visitor book located near entrance door 

  2. Materials must be used only in the Reading Room 

  3. Readers are responsible for the safety of materials 

    • Use only pencil when taking notes 

    • Do not mark or trace on materials 

    • Do not eat or drink in Reading Room 

    • Do not lay materials face down 

    • Use bookmarks provided by the staff 

    • Gloves are to be used when handling photographs but are not necessary for most other types of materials 

    • Keep collection materials in their original order 

  4. Duplication of materials will be allowed in most cases, but some materials are too fragile to photocopy or scan. Photography is allowed. 

  5. Permission to use materials in publications must be requested 


Library Use Only

Special Collections items are rare/unique and usually impossible to replace, and often require special storage needs in order to preserve them in good condition (mylar sleeves, archival boxes, acid free folders & tissue, etc.). That's why they are kept separate from the rest of the library collections and listed in the catalog as "Library Use Only." This ensures that these rare resources are available for all to use in years to come.