Skip to main content

Rare Books, Manuscripts, & Artifacts

OWU Special Collections Services

Access to the OWU Special Collections is currently by appointment only for virtual and in-person services. Please fill out our request form, and a librarian will contact you. It is highly recommended that you provide at least 5 days notice for your request.

The OWU Special Collections librarians can accommodate research requests through virtual or in-person services. We urge you to consider virtual research assistance when at all possible. Due to COVID-19, we have adapted our Special Collections in-person visitor guidelines and procedures.

OWU instructors interested in using OWU Special Collections materials in their classes can contact Stacy or learn more about their options below.

The Collection

Ohio Wesleyan University's Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Artifacts collection contains materials illustrating various methods people have used to record transactions, thoughts, and knowledge in language forms: cuneiform writing in clay tablets; Greek on papyrus; sacred texts in Sanskrit on palm leaves, in Hebrew on a leather scroll, in Latin and Ge'ez in illuminated manuscripts on parchment; early printed books. It also includes many rare books and examples of 19th and 20th century writings.

Additionally, Special Collections at OWU houses artifacts such as pre-Columbian pottery from Bolivia, Anasazi and Lower Mississippi culture pottery, Asian and African artifacts, oriental carpets, chinaware, and paintings.

Noteworthy individual collections include the Bayley / Walt Whitman Collection, Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning Collection, Leland Schubert Collection of 1920s imprint first editions, Gunsaulus medieval manuscripts and incunabula collection, Kate Greenaway Collection, Spanish Civil War Collection, Jaccaud Collection of Presidential Campaign Literature, and Kelley circus and theater promotional materials collection.

The Rare Books, Manuscripts, & Artifacts collection can assist you with virtual research requests or in-person by appointment only. Please email Stacy or fill out our form to request to use the OWU Special Collections.

 

Click to view ONLINE RESOURCES FOR SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

 

OWU Instructors: Using Special Collections in Your Courses

The OWU Special Collections staff has the ability to meet with your class and show materials to them virtually or to assist students with individual research appointments.

Our virtual class instruction option will utilize webcam technology to allow librarians to show Special Collections materials to your students. This includes asynchronous and synchronous class instruction opportunities in Blackboard, Google Meet, Zoom, YouTube, etc. If you are interested in this option, please fill out and submit this form, and a member of our staff will contact you to discuss course instruction options for your class. 

We can also meet with students individually for class projects and related research; in that case, each student will need to make an appointment with our staff. In order to facilitate this, please have each student fill out our form, selecting the in-person or virtual visit option. You can send our form directly to the students using this url: http://tinyurl.com/OWUSCform

We look forward to working with you and your students.

Image from a medieval manuscript
Image from a Japanese scroll
Image from the Description de l'Égypte plates
Majolica Syrian plate
Image of King James Bible introductory text
Barnum and Bailey promotional poster image
Image of Classical Library books on a shelf
Image of Kate Greenaway book cover
Image of the Salon de 1890 title page

CONTACT

Stacy Chaney-Blankenship
sbchaney@owu.edu

HOURS

By appointment only.

Request form for virtual and in-person appointments.