Skip to main content

Off-Campus Access

How to access ebooks, databases, and help from a librarian.

Ebook Collections

OWU Libraries subscribes to several large, scholarly ebook collections, including: 


You can also search the Summon and CONSORT catalogs with a simple keyword search. Tips on how to narrow your search to ebooks are listed below.

Finding Ebooks in Summon

All of the ebooks offered by the library can be found in Summon. The quickest way to limit the search results to ebooks is to limit to the format "Book/eBook" and to "Full Text Online" as shown here.

 

 

One of the big benefits of Summon is that searches look inside the book. Summon checks for your keywords not only in the titles and abstracts but the full-text of the entire book, making it much easier to find relevant passages in from books.

Finding Ebooks in CONSORT

In the CONSORT catalog, you can quickly narrow your search to just ebooks available to OWU users.   

On the OWU homepage, click on Advanced Search

Add your search terms at the top. Limit to: 

  • Library = Ohio Wesleyan
  • Other material type = Ebook
Click Submit

Your search results should have an Ebook icon on the left ...

...and a "View available access options" link to the right.

 

Finding Ebooks Elsewhere

  • Hathi Trust Digital Library
    This is a digital repository for book and journal content from partner/participating institutions. Any one can view and access the content of digitized public domain items. In-copyright works have more limited viewing and might not be accessible for viewing.
     
  • Internet Archive  > Ebooks and Texts
    This portion of this web site serves as a repository for digitized books and other texts as a means for preserving it for the future. Can be especially great for older works and primary sources.
     
  • Google Books
    Google Books provides previews of in-copyright books and access to the full text of out-of-copyright books. CONSORT and OhioLINK records sometimes have links to Google Book displays. Google Books in turn provides links that search if a book is available at OWU or another local Ohio Library. Contact a librarian for details!