Public Services Librarian
Primary Sources
This tab is meant to help you find historical sources of information. Here you'll find links to some of the key resources, from databases to websites, focusing on helping you find primary sources such as news stories, property history, and local history.
Primary Source Databases
- American Periodicals Series (Collection I) This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Hosted by the Library of Congress, offering selected digitized issues of historic U.S. newspapers published from 1836 to 1922. - Times Digital Archive (London, England : 1785-) This link opens in a new window
The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2013 makes 228 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
