Public Services Librarian
Where to start
Find the right database with relevant articles for your topic with Database A-Z .
Database A-Z List
Use the subject tab to limit your paper to the relevant department. It could be Journalism and Communication, but it also might be a related fead like Sociology and Anthropology. What makes sense for your topic?
Database
Scholarly Articles
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. It features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and lexicographers and contains abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Abstracts the world's most significant professional literature in psychology and its applications.
Newspapers
- U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides users with exclusive and preferred access to current content and significant archives dating back to 1980 from five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Provides legal, news, and business information from 15,000 of the best business, news, and legal sources available.
Summon
Summon is a library search tool that lets you search across the majority of the library's resources including books in CONSORT, full-text articles from academic databases, media, ebooks, and lots more from a single search box.
CONSORT
CONSORT is the online catalog shared by OWU, Denison, Kenyon, and Wooster. Search here to find books, magazines, music, and video.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog that expands your search even further, searching libraries all around the world. And yes, you can request items from here too.
Books
E-Book Collections
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Features subscription access to over 100,000 titles in electronic format from academic publishers covering all of the major disciplines.
Problems getting to Ebook Central? Try this link.
This resource is supported in part or in whole by the Harold ('30) and Laura D. ('31) Ellsworth Book Fund. - EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects.
Click to chat online now
Chat is offline
