Includes more than 50,000 topical articles and 30,000 biographies from The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 vols., 2013), and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 vols., 2014).
Includes 8000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres; from the study of music — theory, aesthetics, scholarship — to the way it is performed and disseminated.
Contains 27,000 covering a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.
(Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Devoted to the scholarly study of music. Covers an international collection of publications from 1967 to the present: books, conference proceedings, journal articles, dissertations, internet resources, sound recordings, and motion pictures. RILM also includes coverage of conference proceedings and Festschriften from as far back as the early 19th century.
RILM is our sole music-specific articles database. Below are the music subject sections of other general academic and general periodical databases.
Academic Search Complete includes scholarly journals and popular publications like Rolling Stone and Billboard. Use the search limits on the databases left-hand side to narrow down your results by publication, date, and more.
This database focuses on the performing arts and includes articles from academic journals and popular titles like Variety and New York. Here you find more on opera, musical theater, and other forms of music performance.