Skip to main content

Special Collections Department Guide for Student Classes

Archives of Ohio United Methodism

Archives of Ohio United Methodism (AOUM)

AOUM is the official repository of the records of the East and West Ohio Conferences of The United Methodist Church. Items which represent the heritage of The United Methodist Church in Ohio from its inception up to and including the present are collected. Ohio Wesleyan University is the custodian of these materials, not the owner. 

What’s in the Collection?

  • Books about the history of United Methodism in general 
  • Manuscripts and conference proceedings relevant to the history of Ohio United Methodism 
  • Artifacts, photos, and other museum objects of good quality that depict the history of United Methodism in Ohio 
  • Publications of The United Methodist Church 
  • Local church history files 
  • Records of closed and abandoned churches 
  • Dead Ministers file (index to clergy who have died - service records & locations of memoirs, photos, etc.) 
  • Newspapers, journals, and periodicals including Western Christian Advocate, Ladies' Repository, Der Christliche Apologete, Haus und Herd, Der Christliche Botschafter, Methodist History 
  • Personal papers and diaries, including J.B. Finley letters, Bishop Thomas A. Morris' papers, and the Roy Leedy Evangelical collection 

Visiting

Visiting the Special Collections

The Special Collections Department is located on the second floor of Beeghly Library, adjacent to the Bayley Room. The Reading Room is open from 8:30-Noon, and 1-5, Monday-Friday. Students are highly encouraged to schedule appointments, but “walk-ins” are also welcome.

Contact information for appointments:

OWU Historical Collection

Eugene Rutigliano (Curator), earutigl@owu.edu, 740-368-3233

Rare Books, Manuscripts & Artifacts

Bernard Derr (Rare Books Librarian), blderr@owu.edu, 740-368-3288

Archives of Ohio United Methodism

Carol Holliger (Archivist), aoum@owu.edu, 740-368-3285