Skip to main content

ZOOL/BOMI 351 : Cell and Molecular Biology: Find Articles

Important Journals

Annual Review of Biochemistry

Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology

Biochemistry

Cancer

Cell

Current Biology

Current Opinion in Cell Biology

Current Opinion in Genetics & Development

Current Opinion in Immunology

Development

EMBO Journal

FASEB Journal

Genes & Development

Genetics

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association

Journal of Bacteriology

Journal of Biological Chemistry

Journal of Cell Biology

Journal of Virology

Molecular & Cellular Biology

Molecular Cell

Nature

Nature Biotechnology

Nature Cell Biology

Nature Chemical Biology

Nature Genetics

Nature Medicine

Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology

Nature Structural and Molecular Biology

New England Journal of Medicine

Nucleic Acids Research

Plant Physiology

PLoS Biology

PLoS Genetics

PNAS: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

Science

Trends in Cell Biology

Trends in Genetics

Trends in Microbiology

Trends in Molecular Medicine

 Virology

Choosing a Database

Biomedical researchers rely heavily on the three databases listed above.  There is no one perfect database.  In routine use, researchers usually stick with one favorite. But when preparing journal articles and grant proposals, the review of the literature is extremely important.  At these times, researchers will comb through several databases.  

There are some significant differences between these four databases.

PubMed Produced by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes Medline, additional llife science journals reviewed by the editors, online books in the NCBI library, relevant web sites, in-press citations, and author manuscripts of articles published by NIH-funded researchers.  It also contains links to the NCBI molecular biology resources.  It uses automatic term mapping to MeSH subject headings which enables users to search using natural language.  PubMed indexes 5500 journals covering the life sciences.  This is a free resource available to anyone on the web.

Biosis Previews (1969-present).  This is the most comprehensive reference database for life science research.  It covers original research and reviews in  traditional biology and biomedicine.  It also covers references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. This database was originally known as Biological Abstracts.  It has powerful indexing features and a unique controlled vocabulary that allows very precise searching.

Web of Science This "for-profit" database has for many years been the premier science database.  It indexes articles from 6650 major scientific journals covering all scientific disciplines.  It includes journal article abstracts and conference proceedings.  The strength of Web of Science is that one can search both forwards and backwards in time by utilizing its cited reference searching capabilities.  While it doesn't index every scientific journal, its coverage does include "the best" journals.  Searching is keyword for words occuring in the abstract and in author-supplied keywords.

 

Find Protocols

SpringerProtocols is the largest subscription-based online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Compiling protocols from the book series Methods in Molecular Biology and other sources, SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years of tested, trusted, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in the lab. With an emphasis on comprehensiveness and clarity, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style. Protocols are written by experts in the field and are reviewed by editors distinguished in their specific subject areas.