Skip to main content

Theatre and Dance: THEA 341 Researching Theatre Practitioners

Using the Library Catalog (CONSORT) to Find Books

Click here to see a list of reference materials available to help you get started with your research. 

Use CONSORT, OWU's library catalog, to find books with information about your practitioner.

Two modern American tragedies: reviews and criticism of Death of a salesman and A streetcar named Desire

If you get few results in CONSORT, search OhioLink simply by clicking

Using Research Databases to Find Articles, Reviews, etc.

Go to the databases AFTER you've been in CONSORT.  And make it easy on yourself.  Simply do the SAME SEARCH you did in the catalog. 

Your best databases are:

Academic Search Complete and the International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance.

  • Search these two databases together (and any others that interest you) by selecting More Databases at the top of the screen.
  • Search your playwright as keyword; be sure to put the name in quotes (“Tennessee Williams”).
  • Use the provided terms along the left-hand side of your results screen to help you narrow your results. 
  • Narrow by date to find primary sources.  There is an easy to use Publication Date limiter on the left side of your results page. 
  • Some articles are available in full-text online.  For those that are not, use the  library catalog to search the journal’s title.  For titles to which we don’t have access, use Interlibrary Loan to obtain a PDF of the article for FREE!

 

YouTube is Cool

Search YouTube for film clips, scenes from theatre productions, interviews, and more.  Be brave.  Go past the first page of results!!!


And don't be afraid to use YouTube (or the other suite of Google resources) to find information on Contemporary Playwrights.  Depending on who you choose, there may be little information in the library catalog or the databases.  If you're running into a wall, ASK ME.  I am amazing and can help you.